Online Assessment Tools

This week I explored the applications of Thinglink and Adobe Spark video as a means to create online presentations.  I have used Thinglink before as an in class assessment before in class.   I like the idea that students can demonstrate their knowledge and critical thinking skills in a creative manner.  Students are able to utilize additional skills such as photo copy right usage.    I have used this assessment to introduce and/or reinforce the use of Creative Commons or Google Usage Tools for images.   Many times my students can explain how they cannot use other’s written work as their own (plagiarism) but they rarely transfer that knowledge to images.   I already had a Thinglink planned as an assessment for the unit I am currently teaching with my Honors English class.   I was able to use this assignment to develop a model for the students to refer if needed.  The students in question have never created a Thinglink in the past.  The only struggle that I did encounter was adding a Google Document to my Thinglink.   Once I was logged in under my school account, there were no issues, using my personal account presented no additional complications.   I realized that crossing accounts is not the easiest avenue to take.

The second online application that I attempted was Adobe Spark Video.   I found this process to be easy to use and create.   I like how user friendly it was to use.  I could easily see my students using this in class and creating their own videos.   As a teacher of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, the narrating aspect of the application was not needed.  I was, however, able to add “narrated” signed videos.  The only concern that I see with my school is student videos on the web not on the school server.   I would need to have additional permissions from student’s parents in order to have them add videos to the web (even not public).   Many of my parents struggle with written language.   This is a tool that I would need to introduce at the beginning of the school year with parents getting their permission. 

As I have a student set of computers in my classroom, access to technology is not the issue nor is the time to get it done, students often come to my class at lunch or before school to complete assignments that they cannot complete at home.  Since I am the English Department in my high school, I have a bit of flexibility on assessment application.   Additionally, since my students are second language learners, my administration supports alternative assessments that allow students to demonstrate their understanding of the material. I often use an assessment of this type as a cumulative assessment.  I am excited to try an Adobe Spark video type assessment with my students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *